Vashtie Kola and Big Sean

Last week I had a shoot with Director, Fashion Designer, Party Promoter Va$htie Kola. The approach to this shoot was a little different from the norm and inspired by a spread that I’ve seen two favorite photographers do in the past. (Steven Klein and Richard Avedon) I wanted to make it look as if this celebrity power couple was followed around by paparazzi and the photos were leaked. No, V and Sean are not dating in real life but the images turned out just the way we envisioned.

This was my first time working with Vashtie and I doubt this will be the last. She is such an amazing person to work with and such an inspiring person. The energy she gives off when present is pretty awesome. As you know if you follow my work I work with Sean quite often as I am the photographer that shot his last mixtape, his most recent mixtape which is due to be released mid February as well as his album artwork for the official album that will drop later this year.

We had little time to put the shoot together due to both Vashtie and Sean having limited time. Sean finishing up his mixtape and Vashtie only being in town for the day as she had to fly out to Germany the very next morning for a video shoot. With all that going on we still managed to get it done.

here are a few shots from the layout and I am still trying to think of a name for the set so if you have any suggestions feel free to let me know!

Special thanks to the whole team. (makeup) Tina Janel (wardrobe) Brittany Kozerski, Isis, Gumbo, Ashlee Arder and the F.O.K.U.S. Crew

(vashtie’s recap)

28 thoughts on “Vashtie Kola and Big Sean

  1. Hey Dante

    So I just found out about you :), wishing I had known of you sooner but no need for wishful thinking any longer, now that I have the opportunity to explore your work & blog frequently. The reason for my reply is just to tell you that I really like your work and your humbleness; only if there were more artist of your stature. I will stay tuned for your next entry, I am now a definite supporter!

    1. Brandy, I appreciate you reaching out and it makes me feel very good to know that you plan to frequent the blog. As far as humbleness… I feel that its very important when it comes to art. You have to have balance as far as staying humble but at the same time making sure you dont cheat yourself. If you come off as an artist that does not know your worth people will take advantage of you quite often. Again, thank you so much for your support and I am glad you liked this entry!

  2. just found your blog, its amazing, i love the photos big fan, how about “can you read my mind” or “telepathy” just because the pictures are capturing such cool emotions without words being said! jazz ldn, uk

  3. I think an appropriate title for this series is “A Love Unspoken.”

    It’s the name of a poem by Tupac in the book The Rose That Grew From Conrete. Google it if you are interested. There is a song and a poem by the same name. The song is actually a mix of a couple of Tupac’s poems from The Rose That Grew From Concrete book though.

    Well anyway, that’s my idea. Keep up the good work! This was great! =)

  4. By the way love your work. Is there any opportunity of maybe booking you for an upcoming event or project. Please get back with me. I’m totally serious. I’m serious about my work.

  5. Hey Dante,

    First off, as always, this shoot is stunning. I’ve been following your work for a minute now, and it’s truly inspiring to see where at now. Congrats.

    These shots are really wonderful, and I can definitely see the influence of Avedon and Klein. I don’t know if I would necessarily call these paparazzi shots – it doesn’t do them justice. If they were more like Terry Richardson, then I could agree.

    The first and second images are spectacular. The second works perfectly with the storyline, and is the best of the series in my opinion. One of the main reasons I can’t see this as a paparazzi shoot is the first image. It’s essentially too well done for paparazzi.

    The third image seems a bit indecisive. I like the element on the right side, but it is competing hard with Va$htie and Big Sean. If there was more, or less of it, the object may not have competed as hard.

    The last image is great because its more like a paparazzi shot. I remember you posting a picture of Avedon’s instructions to his printers. I think this image needs that a bit. These two need to stand out a bit from everything else thats happening. I understand the the tonal range is a bit muted in these, but the highlights on their clothes could be pushed a bit. Especially with the girl in the background, Va$htie and Big Sean just need to stand out a bit.

    These are just things that stood out a bit at me. But again I really like this series, and for short notice, you did a ridiculous job.

    Take care man,
    -TEC

    1. This comment really means a lot to me. I often speak on how its so difficult for people to really critique things these days. Constructive criticism is the best. I really appreciate it! I will take everything you said into consideration for sure and when I post the final selection I will make adjustments. Thanks again!

  6. it looks like yall are a really a couple…but if yall were i would call these photos urban lovers…the two styles yall have together is crazy and i like it..

Leave a Reply

