stop hating!

Just because I tell you the truth does not make me a hater!

We are always looking for someone to gas us up. Someone to tell us we are the best. Its almost like we show people what progress we have made just to hear them say it looks good. When in all actuality it probably sucks! I am tired of people telling me exactly what they think I want to hear. In the long run telling me what I want to hear is not going to help me grow at all.

We are not always the best at taking constructive criticism. As soon as someone voices their opinion and it doesn’t come out as nice as we would like it to we instantly call them a hater. Our response typically goes something like… “Everyone else loves it, you’re just hating!”

I’ve come to the conclusion that most people don’t know what they like. I take that back, most people do not know quality. Most people are afraid to tell the truth because they will look like the hater and who wants to be classified as the hating ass friend? So instead, they just lie and say something along the lines of… “Aw man, this is really good! You did this?”

Let me be the first to say that I know I am not perfect, I know I have a lot of work to do when it comes to many things. I am a grown ass man! Do not spoon feed me the truth like I am a baby. Hit me with the real!

I am not saying that every time you do something it will suck. All I am saying is you have to know how to take constructive criticism because that is the only way you will get better. What I do is compare what I am working on to those I would consider the absolute best in my field. With my photography for example, if it looks like it can hold its own next to some of my favorite photographers then maybe I am on the right track. If not, I probably need to go back and brush up on a few things. We need to stop waiting for people to tell us what we want to hear.

I don’t want you in my circle if you are going to act like a bitch when I tell you the truth because I am not going to act like a bitch when you tell me the truth!

@dantemarshall

Leave a Reply

